The Fire Gilders: A Celebration of Women Poets To Mark Brigid’s Day & Black History Month 


Posted 1 month ago in Arts and Culture

St Patricks day festival – Desktop

In Ireland the beginning of February is traditionally known as Brigid’s Day, or Imbolc, a celebration of the patron saint of poets and the first day of spring. Meanwhile in the United States, February marks the start of Black History Month, honouring centuries of achievements by Black Americans.

This year, the first day of Spring sees a unique transatlantic collaboration as Poetry Ireland, theAfrican American Irish Diaspora Network  and the Embassy of Ireland(Washington D.C.) join forces to mark Brigid’s Day and Black History Month with a special online event.

The line-up features African American poets of Irish heritage, Amanda Johnston and Kimberley Reyes, alongside Ireland-based poets Nithy Kasa and Felicia Olusanya. Audiences across Ireland, The US and beyond can look forward to savouring live readings and performances of the poets’ own work, as well as reflections on their heritage and insights into women who most influenced and inspired them.

This free online event will be MC’d by spoken word artist Clara Rose Thornton.

The Fire Gilders: A Celebration of Women Poets To Mark Brigid’s Day & Black History Month takes place on Monday 1st February at 6PM in Ireland,  1PM EST and 12PM CST. Tickets are free but should be registered for in advance here.

Poetry Ireland gratefully acknowledges the support of its principal funders The Arts Council / An ChomhairleEalaíon and The Arts Council of Northern Ireland.

NEWSLETTER

The key to the city. Straight to your inbox. Sign up for our newsletter.

SEARCH

Advertisement
BookiesBonuses MPU

NEWSLETTER

The key to the city. Straight to your inbox. Sign up for our newsletter.