Visit Merrion Mews, Antiquaries, Dublin 2 Modern, Govt buildings to get your fill of Historic Dublin 2 during Open House Dublin this year!
The mews building at the rear of No.63 Merrion Square is an integral part of one of the most significant survivals of an 18th century Dublin townhouse – comprising of a main house with garden, mews and stables with its own small garden – within the classic Fitzwilliam/Merrion Square area of Dublin. Situated on Fizwilliam Lane, the Mews is a quaint and charming property. Built in 1792/93 the house retains much of its historic character and fabric. The garden is one of the few surviving gardens in Merrion Square and most certainly the only remaining garden retaining a 19th century design and layout. The Mews also has a private garden, coach yard, coachhouse and stables. The stables have been conserved, and given a new life as a place to rest and water the horses of the Mounted Unit of An Garda Siochana while they are on duty in the city centre. Open on Saturday 14 October from 11.00am – 5.00pm.
Number 63 Merrion Square is home to the library and collections of the Royal Society of Antiquaries. In 1787, the long narrow plot was leased to the successful Dublin businessman and property developer, Joseph Sandwith. The House, its garden and mews went through a number of owners since the 1790s, but have been in the hands of the Royal Society of Antiquaries of Ireland since 1917. For this reason it continues to retain many original features which have been lost in neighbouring houses, and the Society is particularly fond of its recently restored Georgian garden, which is unique in the city. Regular visitors to the House will be able to take in the results of recent conservation work carried out on the ornate plasterwork in the House and an exciting colour change in the Reception rooms. Tours of the Society House will take place on the hour between 11am and 3pm on Saturday 14 October.
A walking tour, on Saturday 14 October at 11.00am and Sunday 15 October at 11.00am, with Simon Walker, architect of DoCoMoMo Ireland, around some of the most iconic mid-century Modern buildings in Dublin’s business district – one being demolished, two restored, two threatened with demolition, one preserved.
The last significant building project undertaken by the British administration in Ireland, the Department of the Taoiseach was designed by the famous London-based architect Sir Aston Webb. The project began in 1904 and was completed in 1922, in time to be occupied by the new Irish Free State Government. Wonder what our current Taoiseach has on his desk this year? Find out by visiting on Saturday, 14 October between 11:00 – 17:00
Open House Dublin (OHD) invites Dublin’s citizens to explore their city as when buildings not usually accessible to the public and buildings of architectural merit open their doors over the weekend of October 13th – 15th